ACON's Honour Awards

Some outstanding contributions to the GLBT community were celebrated last night at ACON's annual Honour Awards.

Now in its sixth year, the Honour Awards is an annual event which recognises outstanding achievements within or contributions to NSW's GLBT community. It is also an important fundraiser to help support the important work ACON does.

The winners were selected from a field of 20 finalists and were presented with their awards at a ceremony last night at the Ivy in Sydney. The event was attended by over 200 people and raised over $30,000 for ACON's vital work in the community.

My congratulations go to Susan Brooks who won the Community Hero Award for service to the GLBT community as a member and supporter of several key GLBT community organisations (most recently as a founding and key member of The Pinnacle Foundation which provides scholarships and mentorships to marginalised and/or disadvantaged GLBT youth).

Gay and HIV activist Bill Whittaker was honoured with the inaugural ACON President's Award in recognition of a lifetime dedicated to improving the health and wellbeing of people affected by HIV/AIDS.

Other Award recipients doing incredible work include Gen Q/Regional Youth Support Services (Community Organisation Award), John O'Dea (Health & Wellbeing Award), Tommy Murphy (Media/Arts/Entertainment Award), and Stonewall Hotel (Business Award).

I would like to congratulate Alex Greenwich, who I am endorsing for the City of Sydney by-election, for being nominated for his tireless work promoting marriage equality.

For more information, visit:

Sign Up